Forums > Kitesurfing General

Shedding off speed

Created by Maxiy > 9 months ago, 30 Sep 2014
Maxiy
ACT, 96 posts
30 Sep 2014 12:12PM
Thumbs Up

Hi all i have a question about how to wash off speed, i shall give you some background to my skill level and what iam riding first to hopefully help you answer my question better (if it isn't a stupid question of course hahaha) I have been kiting for quite a few years now, but due to living in Canberra, and being a slave to the boss, i dont get to go kiting as much as i would like.

AT the moment my skills are as follows. I can confidently self launch, self land, self rescue, navigate my way through medium sized waves/swell, go up wind, do slide transitions and i am starting to do turning transitions onto my toeside and riding toe side. Iam also starting to work on popping (no input from the kite yet, just off chop and the back of waves/loading up on an edge and popping)

I currently ride Ozone Catalyst kites, mainly 8 and a 12. I have an old 10m Naish C-kite, and a 14m naish torch which i rarely use. I ride a 136 slingshot misfit (2010 i think) and a 2013 axis patrol on the light wind days.

So here is my question (sorry for the essay). I was riding down at Broulee on Sunday, i was riding on my 12m, i am not sure what the wind was like but i had it fully de-powered and generally was riding with the bar about halfway in (i should have gone and got my 10 but was already out and didn't want to go back to the car). The board i was on was one of my mates, a 2013 Naish motion. I was riding along fine 90% of the time but on the occasions that a gust came through i found that i was rocketing along at a speed that was a little uncomfortable for my skill level, i tried edging harder and bringing the kite a little higher (towards 12) to try wipe off speed but found that i couldn't really slow my momentum. some times i just lost my nerve and ditched my butt into the water to slow down.