Forums > Kitesurfing General

Foils & Sharks

Created by seanhogan > 9 months ago, 24 Feb 2016
seanhogan
QLD, 3424 posts
24 Feb 2016 2:23PM
Thumbs Up

Just wondering if any of you kitefoilers have noticed a sudden interest in your person by our underwater "friends" ?

Here in New Cal we never had attacks on riders before the foils.

In two years we had two attacks with serious bites (one just yesterday by a tiger shark) and one foiler actually chased by a young tiger shark in shallow water....

I don't kite and just started windsurf foiling, so I'm no expert at all, but could there be something with the foil that attracts/irritates the sharkies ?

Sean

Jared27
QLD, 3 posts
24 Feb 2016 2:49PM
Thumbs Up

I guess it depends on the type of material the foil is made out of and what type of current it gives off to the Sharks ampulae (current detector - which you wouldn't believe how sensitive a current it can pick up!)

Their shape could pass off as any number of underwater animals plus reflections from the sun. Not to mention since it gives off no noise. Sharks are curious and their taste buds are actually half way down their throat so they don't know what it is until they've had a good go at it.
Sharks are actually quite smart and will learn something and can remember it up to a year - so those sharks that first had a taste, likely won't again for a year. (Which is why baited hooks are stupid) a foil compared to let's say a TT I would argue would definitely peak their curiosity a lot more (most boards don't give off an electrical current)

if all else fails, kite faster than 50km/h. You may just outrun it.

harry potter
VIC, 2777 posts
24 Feb 2016 4:49PM
Thumbs Up

A foil underwater looks a lot like a ray.....
Sharks eat rays

bjw
NSW, 3568 posts
24 Feb 2016 5:42PM
Thumbs Up

I've heard foils take out a lot of turtles in maui, you'd have to expect they would clean up some lazy sharks every so often too.

Perhaps they just want revenge.

Piros
QLD, 6879 posts