Forums > Kitesurfing General

Equipment advice needed

Created by jinxmix > 9 months ago, 7 Jul 2013
jinxmix
4 posts
7 Jul 2013 3:37AM
Thumbs Up

Hello everyone

About me: I am around 65kg (~145lbs). Around 1,80m (5'11''), slim body type.
I am a beginner kitesurfer and I am seriously considering buying my first owned equipment, and I would appreciate your input on a a few of points.

I am minded towards the new Cabrinha Switchblade 2013, because the reviews have is as extremely easy to use, very versatile, has easy relaunch, and is a good kite to take you from the beginning to intermediate level. I haven't had the opportunity to try it. Do you think it would be a good choice? Would you suggest another option?

In relation to the size: Cabrinha lists the 9m for 15-26kts, and the 10m for 12-23kts. (see here: http://www.cabrinhakites.com/bow/switchblade.html )
Cabrihna says these are based on a 75kg (~170lbs) rider. How are these adjusted for me? 65kg (~145lbs).

I will be mainly kitesurfing in Cyprus (e.g. Paramali beach). The average wind on a typical summer day may be anything from say 12-13kts on a calm day to say double that (25kts) on less common windier days, perhaps higher gusts. i would say the summer average would be between 14-18kts.

What do you suggest for my case? I am mainly minded towards the 10m as a lot of reviews say the SB 2013 are not amazing on the low-end of the spectrum. Is a 10m ok? should i be considering an 11 instead? or will it be over the top?

As a second kite (in the future) perhaps a 7m would complement a 10m kite. (also more useful for stronger winds in autumn/spring)