Forums > Kitesurfing General

Ask before they touch it! (Pallarenda or anywhere)

Created by Kazan > 9 months ago, 25 Mar 2013
Kazan
QLD, 699 posts
25 Mar 2013 2:51PM
Thumbs Up

I went out yesterday at Pallarenda and stupid me sees a kiter sitting watching the action next to his kite. So I naturally ask him to help me launch. Little did I know (I didn't know!) that he was not even a beginner but well... a nice guy wanting to know the sport I guess. Well... why not bring your kite to the beach and see the action? I guess. But when he lifted my kite, without me giving the thumbs up or any signal he just throws it into the wind (yes UP WIND!). I shout... Hey... wait!! He does it again. Luckily I have some self launch experience, so I take over and self launch it whilst it's upright. And luckily it was under 20knots!

I did politely "educate" him for next time.

Haydn24
QLD, 473 posts
25 Mar 2013 3:16PM
Thumbs Up

Mmm yeah be careful, a lot of people see kiters launch each other and think they can do it just from "monkey see, monkey do"... Same with landing...

Might see ya out there this arvo if it picks up

Eaglelad
VIC, 119 posts
25 Mar 2013 5:26PM
Thumbs Up

the EXACT same thing happened to me last week- except he had a harness and everything on. Just reminds you not to become complacent and spend the 30 seconds to chat with your launcher! I had a little rethink about it all afterwards and I've never had a botched self launch....

Adrenalin Rush
QLD, 876 posts
25 Mar 2013 4:32PM
Thumbs Up

You need to hire one of these.

Plummet
4862 posts
25 Mar 2013 2:44PM
Thumbs Up

yeah,

if your don't know the guy just say.

"don't let go until I give you the thumbs up"

lostinlondon
VIC, 1159 posts
25 Mar 2013 6:52PM
Thumbs Up