Forums > Kitesurfing   Western Australia

Kiting in bunbury? Brand new kiter needing helpppp

Created by Kayla > 9 months ago, 27 Nov 2013
Kayla
2 posts
27 Nov 2013 1:26AM
Thumbs Up

I started lessons in qld 3 months ago, bought gear and haven't done it since. I'm not good AT ALL but really only through lack of practice. I've moved to wa to pursue the sport but am on a working holiday visa and am about to move to Harvey to work on a dairy farm. Is there a good opportunity to kite around there? Is there anyone willing to help me out? I'm actually really nervous as I'm complete novice, the wind here is really strong and there are tons of sharks. I'm really looking for some buddies or some help. Thanks!!!!!

Kayla
2 posts
27 Nov 2013 1:37AM
Thumbs Up

Also wanted to mention I'm a chick, weighing 57kgs. I have a 9m kite. Am I gonna die? Haha? Wind was warmer and not as strong up in port Douglas!

WA, 1255 posts
27 Nov 2013 9:27AM
Thumbs Up

Australind would be your best bet for kiting. Not sure how much of a scene is down there. At your weight a 7m would be a good addition to the 9m.

handyman
WA, 35 posts
27 Nov 2013 11:05AM
Thumbs Up

Hi Kayla,

Happy to help if you come down Augusta way sometime.
It's a good place to learn as is Australind
Keep an eye out for the SE winds on Cape Leeuwin live readings.
PM me if you have questions

Monkers
WA, 258 posts
27 Nov 2013 2:31PM
Thumbs Up

When I was learning I found that Wannanup ( south of Mandurah) was excellent . Flat waist deep water, no sharks. Works on SW seabreeze . Normally a few locals there to help out. Will need 7m for summer . Enjoy.

Monkers
WA, 258 posts
27 Nov 2013 2:34PM
Thumbs Up

Wear booties at Wannanup as the crabs trend to give you a nip..

john8oy76
25 posts
30 Nov 2013 7:00PM
Thumbs Up

Hi Kayla,