Forums > Kitesurfing   Western Australia

Its a struggle

Created by G28off > 9 months ago, 26 Feb 2015
G28off
8 posts
26 Feb 2015 8:07PM
Thumbs Up

In line with "seaspraydolphine", I am to struggling with this sport.
I started kite surfing in January by commencing 6 x 1 hour lessons at Pinnaroo Point. The location was too windy and the water deep within 5 meters from the shore line, which destroyed my confidence. The kite was flying me, not me flying the kite. After my lessons I abandon Pinnaroo and headed down to Scarborough and Brighton beaches to practise self launching from the beach and self landings. I never used my board, just tried gaining experience and confidence flying and controlling the kite. All was going well until I had two (2) explosive experiences where I was thrown 10 meters, which again shot my confidence to pieces. (Poor reaction time and inadvertently pulling down on the bar).
I have been surfing for 50 years and have never been taken so far out of my comfort zone by this sport, as the mental stress is unbelievable. I spoke to other kiters who have been kiting for years and they recommended further lessons and trying at Applecross Melville Beach Road. My lessons started in a tense manner with my heart rate up at about 150 beats and my breathing following suite. Notwithstanding, after 6 x 1 hour lessons I was settling down and able to fly my kite, body drag down and up-wind, sine waves and do power body drags-lunges. Since the completion of my lessons, the wind has been fickle, and I have only had two other times of putting theory into practice, which were only approx. 25% successful.