Forums > Kitesurfing Queensland

Road trip Sydney -> Cairns

Created by kviksilver > 9 months ago, 20 Sep 2016
kviksilver
1 posts
20 Sep 2016 8:07AM
Thumbs Up

Hi all, I got most of this planned but I just want to get some last minute feedback :-)

So wife and me should be landing in Sydney sometimes mid Oct and after few (4 +/-1) days there we would rent an RV and drive north towards Cairns. Road trip should last something between 2 and 3 weeks, and after that we would spend few more days in Cairns then fly back home...

I got a list of kite spots and this se.kiteforum.com/kitesurf/country/Australia which gives me most of the details that i need but wouldn't want to miss something nice and important... I am basically looking for spots that are close to RV parks with intermediate wave conditions as i just started riding wave board this season... She is not kiting so part of the trip will also be normal touristy stuff that normal people do.. :-)

I am carrying quiver of SS rally 8-11-14, twin tip and a surfboard, shortie and 4/3 wetsuit (my guess is that drysuit will not be needed :-)) Will be flying qantas from Boston to Sydney and back from Cairns (little bit worried about airline charges). Anyway, any advice (i know it is a long stretch of road and there is probably a ton of things) would be welcome, i am returning a favour with a beer sometimes between Oct20th - Nov15th :-)

Ricardo1709
NSW, 1301 posts
21 Sep 2016 7:07AM
Thumbs Up

You could cull the 4/3 steamer you won't need that,I just had what is hopefully my last surf in a 3/2 and into springy or short john.put google maps on and check out likely spots as you're travelling ,theres some hidden gems everywhere.Have a great trip

CJ2478
NSW, 482 posts
21 Sep 2016 9:54AM
Thumbs Up

Select to expand quote
kviksilver said..
Hi all, I got most of this planned but I just want to get some last minute feedback :-)